Stay Informed

Optional Member Code

Senator King Receives the Dr. Nancy J. Grasmick Leadership Award


State leaders, Montgomery County luminaries, and Senator King’s friends and neighbors gathered to honor her as she received Maryland Family Network’s 2013 Nancy S. Grasmick Leadership Award in Early Care & Education. Also present in tribute to Senator King were MFN’s Board President Dixon Harvey, who emceed the event, and Board Members Vicki Finkelstein, Jacqui Lampell, Nancy Grasmick, Mary Gunning, Scott Phillips, Dan White, Rich Wiklund, and Marti Worshtil.
The award is given to a Marylander who, through his or her outstanding record of accomplishments, exemplifies the commitment to young children, their families, their teachers and care providers that Dr. Grasmick has embodied throughout her career. Congressman Steny Hoyer was the first recipient of the Grasmick Award in 2012, shortly after it was established by MFN to commemorate Dr. Grasmick’s contributions to early care and education in Maryland.

During her decade in Annapolis, Senator King has become one of the General Assembly’s most vigorous and successful advocates for young children, their families, and their early educators. As Chair of the Joint Committee on Children, Youth, and Families and as a member of the Education Subcommittee of the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee, Senator King has worked to support expansion of public pre-kindergarten and home visiting services, to promote Maryland’s successful application for the federal Early Learning Challenge Grant, and to pass laws that make children in child care safer from sex offenders and others with criminal backgrounds.

Senator King’s vision and leadership on education is evident in other spheres. She was twice elected to the Montgomery County Board of Education, serving as its president for two years. She is on the Education Committee of the Southern Legislative Conference, and is very active on educational issues in the National Conference of State Legislatures. In 2012, Senator King was selected as an Early Learning Fellow by the National Conference of State Legislatures.

Connect Online